[Raw Msg Headers][Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: smtp-policy.spam problem

Hi Matti... 

It appears as if we managed to construct a series of circumstances 
that conspired to confused me... (easily done). 

First I probably had an entry in smtp-policy.spam that was not 
working (possibly something like .user@some.domain (?) the evidence is 
gone) which let some mail through ...and then I started to get confusing 
results when testing between machines that are physically close by but 
configured differently... (both network and zmailer). My tests produced 
expected results on one machine but unexpected results on another... ;-) 

For a time things were working properly (failing in the real world) but not 
(failing) my test attempts... 

thanks for the response.. ;-)

david potter

On Thu, 22 Jun 2000, Matti Aarnio wrote:

> On Thu, Jun 22, 2000 at 11:51:04AM -0300, David L. Potter wrote:
> > We're using btree and getting no errors when we run policy-builder.sh
> > 
> > We have about 280 entries in smtp-policy.spam in the form of...
> > 
> > xiaopanzi@hotmail.com
> > wealth_health@hotmail.com
> >
> > I haven't checked each one but of the dozen or so that I have 
> > checked, _none_  are working (blocking)...
>    Those should work, but are you sure the MAIL FROM:<..> carried
>    these addresses, and not only the "From:" of visible headers ?
> 450 4.7.1 For MAIL FROM address <reject-this@zmailer.org> policy analysis reported: You are not liked source for email
>    I did put this at one of my machines into smtp-policy.spam, and got
>    that -- I have something tuned not to claim absolute rejection for
>    some reason, apparently.
> >   other entries in the form of:
> > 
> > .seventwentyfour.com
> > .webmarkservices.com
> > 
> > _are_ working. My reading of the documentation seems to suggest that 
> > user@some.domain should block that user...?
> > 
> > david potter
> -- 
> /Matti Aarnio	<mea@nic.funet.fi>