[Raw Msg Headers][Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: SMTP relay problem

At 12:48 pm +0100 13/4/00, Matti Aarnio wrote:
I agree completely that an address 
"user2@mac.radparker.com"@[aa.bb.cc.dd] is a fine but....

>  > I think this is a problem...
>	No.
I don't understand why this is not a problem.  The trouble is that 
the script at mail-abuse.org checks it and marks a mailer which 
accepts it as an open relay.   From there, it reaches the MAPS RSS 
and mail stops getting delivered to other sites.

On that basis, I could register nic.funet.fi as an open relay and it 
will be marked as an open relay because it does not reject their test.

Entertaingly, I have just tried this on the qmail and sendmail 
primary MX sites (hmmm).  Qmail accepts the address but sendmail does 

telnet smtp.sendmail.com 25
Connected to smtp.sendmail.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
220 katroo.Sendmail.COM ESMTP Sendmail 8.9.3/8.9.3; Thu, 13 Apr 2000 
05:20:58 -0700 (PDT)
HELO derek.widearea.co.uk
250 katroo.Sendmail.COM Hello IDENT:root@derek.widearea.co.uk 
[], pleased to meet you
MAIL From: <>
250 <>... Sender ok
RCPT To: <"user2@mac.radparker.com"@[]>
550 <"user2@mac.radparker.com"@[]>... Relaying denied
221 katroo.Sendmail.COM closing connection

Now if this is not a problem, how do we get zmailer installations 
which are listed as open relays off MAPS RSS?